Three Urban Railways, for soprano saxophone and piano, 2019
Reading session live recordings by Susan Fancher (soprano saxophone) and Minato Sakamoto (piano)
Three Urban Railways is composed of three little movements. My algorithm for this piece extracts frequency and amplitude data of three railway announcements and transforms them into music: Guangzhou Metro (Guangzhou, China) for the first movement, Hankyu Railway (Osaka, Japan) for the second movement, and Metro North (New York City, United States) for the third movement. 
While I almost exclusively used algorithmic processes, I could not help thinking different characters of the three railways - spontaneity for Guangzhou Metro, pessimistic depression for Hankyu Railway, and machinery vibrancy for Metro North. These impressions affected my choice of parameters. The use of different announcement data and parameters resulted in three intriguing musical characters.
Movement I. Guangzhou Metro - Minato Sakamoto
00:00 / 00:00
Movement II. Hankyu Railway - Minato Sakamoto
00:00 / 00:00
Movement III. Metro North - Minato Sakamoto
00:00 / 00:00



© 2020 Minato Sakamoto